Get My License. The gorgeous Lake Colorado City in Texas has your name written all over it. As much as you want to take your boat onto the lake, you don’t have a boating permit. You need to get one if you want to take your boat on a ride and here’s how:
Lake Rules to Memorize by Heart
- You aren’t authorized to ride your boat on Lake Colorado City if you don’t have a permit.
- Certain areas of Lake Colorado City are off-limits to swimmers and waders unless stated otherwise.
- All dogs should be on a leash.
- You can’t partake in any activity on Lake Colorado City if it involves ice.
- You can’t use any anchoring deice on or around Lake Colorado City, as it can cause damage to the lake’s liner.
Boating Permit Fees
You need to pay a one-time fee of $19.95* and a $10* state fee to obtain your boating permit or the Texas Boating Safety Certificate. Also, you will need to pass the exam and print your temporary card. You can download the permanent card from the website of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department.
Get the Boater Education Card and Have it on You at All Times
By law, you need to complete the boater safety course and earn the Texas Boating Safety Certificate, as, without it, you will not be allowed to boat in the state. You need to carry it with you at all times. If an enforcement officer stops you, they will ask you to show the card to them. If you don’t have your Colorado Boater Card on you, the enforcement officer will fine you for not carrying it.
What about Boaters Visiting from another State?
Boaters visiting from another state will need to show their boating education cards that meet the requirements of the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA). If you’re coming to Texas from Canada, for instance, you will need to show your Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Card that meets the country’s requirements.
What Are the Age Restrictions for Driving a Boat?
If you are 12 years or younger, you cannot operate the boat by yourself. You need to have an adult aged 18 years and older to be with you if you are operating the boat. If you are between the ages of 13 and 17, you can’t operate the boat on your own and will need to have someone 18 years older to be with you on the boat. The only exception to this is if you have completed the boating course. You need to have picture identification and the card on you at all times.
If you need more information on how to obtain your boating license for boating on LakeColorado City, EZ Dock Texas can help. If you’re getting a boat dock and need information on how to obtain your boating permit, You can contact EZ Dock Texas at 800-654-8168 if you live in Texas.
*Subject to change per local and state websites.